Ryan Wood  |    |   0  |  21 September 2018

The 2019 grid is shaping up but nine seats remain unconfirmed

The 2018 season has seen one of the most active driver markets in recent history, and we're by no means done! Currently only five teams have confirmed their 2019 driver line-ups in full; Mercedes, Ferrari, Red Bull, Renault and McLaren.

Meanwhile Sauber has confirmed one of its drivers in Kimi Raikkonen, who returns to the team he made his F1 debut with way back in 2001! That means there's still nine seats up for grabs.

It's highly likely that Force India will announce a line-up of Sergio Perez and Lance Stroll – it was expected that Stroll would move before the end of the season, with the United States Grand Prix still mooted as a possibility, though that may now be delayed until the start of 2019.

Haas is very likely to retain its current line-up of Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen, with team boss Guenther Steiner having recently dismissed the idea of taking on a young driver.

Toro Rosso remains the biggest question mark of all given its need to find a replacement for Pierre Gasly in the wake of the Frenchman's promotion to Red Bull. That could well have saved Brendon Hartley,  given he faced the axe before Gasly's move, and although the New Zealander's future remains up in the air, Red Bull's lack of junior drivers could well seal his seat for 2019.

The team still needs to find one driver if Hartley is retained and Daniil Kvyat looks like that man, though Red Bull are pushing for Daniel Ticktum. Whilst the young British driver doesn't have enough points to points for a Super Licence, Red Bull are trying to convince the FIA to amend the system – but it still depends on him winning the F3 championship, which very much looks under threat from young Mick Schumacher.

Both Williams seats are up for grabs, though it's highly likely the impressive, and heavily financed, Sergey Sirotkin will be retained. Mercedes-backed Esteban Ocon and George Russell have been mooted as contenders.

As for Sauber? Incumbent Marcus Ericsson and reserve Antonio Giovinazzi are understood to be the contenders.

Leave a comment...