Mazda Team Joest takes second consecutive 1-2 finish at CTMP

Mazda Team Joest had scored a second consecutive 1-2 finish in the IMSA Weathertech Sportscar Championship. The #77 RT24-P DPi of Oliver Jarvis and Tristan Nunez took victory ahead of the #55 sister car of Harry Tincknell and Jonathan Bomarito, while Porsche scored its fifth consecutive victory in the GT Le Mans class.

The two Mazdas were dominant at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, with Bomarito capturing the lead from the Team Penske Acuras in the earlier stages before co-driver Tincknell lost the lead in the final hour of the race due to a slow pitstop. The #6 Acura Team Penske of Dane Cameron and Juan Pablo Montoya came home in third, holding off a storming Pipo Derani in the final stages of the race. Derani and team-mate Felipe Nasr finished fourth ahead of the second Acura of Ricky Taylor and Helio Castroneves.

The race was momentarily red flagged in the last hour when Juncos Racing's Victor Franzoni lost control of his Cadillac in turn 2, sliding off at high speed and slamming hard into the tyre barrier. The Brazilian had to be extracted from his car, but was seen sitting upright and talking to safety personnel as he was put into an ambulance.

In LMP2, Matt McMurry and local hero Dalton Kellett picked up an easy win when their only opponents, Cameron Cassels and Kyle Masson of Performance Tech Motorsports first suffered an issue and later crashed, ending their race prematurely.

In GTLM, Earl Bamber and Laurens Vanthoor came home in first to take Porsche's fifth straight class win, ahead of the polesitting #24 BMW of John Edwards and Jesse Krohn, with Patrick Pilet and Nick Tandy coming home in third.

GTD saw a lights-to-flag victory for the #96 Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3, with Bill Auberlen bringing it home ahead of the #86 Acura of Mario Farnbacher and Trent Hindman, with the #12 AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus of Townsend Bell and Frankie Montecalvo completing the podium