Dane Cameron puts Team Penske on pole for Sebring 12 Hours

Dane Cameron has grabbed pole position for tomorrow's Twelve Hours of Sebring. The Penske driver was fastest in qualifying, setting a 01:45:865 early in the session that proved too fast to top, earning the #6 Acura DPi the top spot on the grid. 

Mazda Team Joest's Tristan Nunez came closest to topping Cameron's time, putting in a 01:46:011 in the #77 Mazda, followed by the other Penske Acura of Helio Castroneves in third place. Filipe Albuquerque was fastest for Cadillac, setting a time of 01:46:238 in the #5 Mustang Sampling machine, followed by team-mate Pipo Derani in the #31 Whelen Engineering car. The #10 Konica Minolta Cadillac, fresh off a victory at the Rolex 24 at Daytona, will start in sixth place.

In LMP2, the two ORECAs of Matt McMurry and Kyle Masson traded the top time back and forth during the 15-minute session, but in the end it was McMurry who came out victorious. The Phoenix native set a time of 01:49:728 right as the chequered flag dropped, thus claiming pole position in the PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports machine. Masson, driving the #38 Performance Tech Motorsports LMP2 entry, was just one-hundredth of a second behind with 01:49:739.

GTLM qualifying proved to be a Porsche affair, as Patrick Pilet and Laurens Vanthoor locked out the front row. The Frenchman proved the quicker of the two, setting a 01:55:899 early, a time which would not be beaten. The sister car, the #912 of Vanthoor, came closest with a 01:56:042. Antonio Garcia claimed third in the #3 Corvette ahead of Richard Westbrook in the #67 Ford and team-mate Tommy Milner in the #4 Corvette. The eight-car field was rounded out by the two BMWs of Jesse Krohn and Tom Blomqvist, while Dirk Mueller brought up the rear in the #66 Ford GT.

In GT Daytona, Trent Hindman took his first-ever pole position for Meyer Shank Racing, setting a 01:59:917 in the #86 Acura NSX GT3 Evo. Hindman proved to be the only driver to put in a lap time below the two-minute mark. Robby Foley came in second place, nearly four-tenths behind the Acura. Third place went to Zacharie Robichon in the Pfaff Porsche 911 GT3 R.