FIA confirms W Series superlicence points allocation

It was announced in October that W Series drivers would qualify for superlicence points from the 2020 season, and the FIA has now confirmed the number of points that will be awarded.

Under FIA rules, drivers require a superlicence to compete in Formula 1 in order to prove they are capable and have the necessary experience.

To gain such licence, drivers are required to compete in FIA approved series, each of which award points based on the level of the series and the drivers finishing position.

To gain a superlicence, drivers must accumulate at least 40 points over the previous three seasons in any combination of the approved championships.

W Series now joins a list of 37 approved championships, with Formula 2 and IndyCar the highest ranked, each awarding 40 points to the driver that claims the championship and are therefore automatically eligible for a superlicence.

W Series will come under the same points scale as Indy Lights, WTCC/WTCR, NASCAR Cup and the Japanese Super Formula Lights among others.

The champion will be awarded 15 points, which reduces to 12 for second, ten for third and then 7, 5, 3, 2 and 1 for eighth place.

The points are an additional bonus to the prize money awarded by the series and give drivers a boost at climbing up the motorsport ladder in the hope of achieving what all drivers set out to do...make it to F1.