Darrell Waltrip surprised by Myers Brothers Award receipt at Cup Series Awards banquet

Darrell Waltrip was named recipient of the 2019 Myers Brothers Award on Thursday night during the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Awards banquet in Nashville, Tenn. The award, presented yearly since 1958, is voted on by the membership by the National Motorsports Press Association and recognizes contributions made to the sport of stock car racing.

“I had no idea; this is a huge surprise,” Waltrip said. “To tell you the truth, Stevie [Waltrip, wife] and I almost didn’t come. That would have been really embarrassing. This is a thrill. What a thrill. I thought retirement kind of sucked. But maybe with these things before I me, I will enjoy it a little more. I am really humbled for this award. I am really appreciative, thank you so much.”

Waltrip retired from NASCAR during the 2019 season. That career was, first, as a NASCAR driver and, then, a NASCAR broadcaster for FOX. After a driving career that included 809 Cup Series races between 1972 and 2000, Waltrip moved to broadcasting in 2001.

Waltrip scored 84 wins, tying him with Bobby Allison for fourth on the all-time wins list. Those victories include the 1989 Daytona 500. He also is a three-time Cup Series champion, claiming titles in 1981, 1982 and 1985. Waltrip was named Driver of the Year in 1979, 1981 and 1982 and was Driver of the Decade for the 1980s. He also was named one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers in 1998 and was inducted in the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2012.

Waltrip was voted NMPA Most Popular Driver in 1989 and 1990. He was the last drover not named Elliott or Earnhardt to receive that honor.