Red Bull confirms Alexander Albon for 2020, Pierre Gasly stays at Toro Rosso

Red Bull Racing has confirmed that Alexander Albon will compete for the team in the 2020 Formula 1 season, with Pierre Gasly continuing to line up for Toro Rosso.

Albon stepped up to Formula 1 full-time in 2019 with Toro Rosso in the wake of Gasly being promoted to Red Bull in place of Renault-bound Daniel Ricciardo.

But Gasly struggled for speed and consistency, scoring just 63 points across the opening 12 grands prix, and regularly trailed team-mate Max Verstappen.

Red Bull instigated a seat swap during the summer break, with Albon stepping up to the senior team as Gasly returned to Toro Rosso, for whom he raced across late 2017 and the entirety of 2018.

It was confirmed in September that Daniil Kvyat would be staying at the Faenza-based squad into 2020, leaving Albon and Gasly as the sole contenders.

Red Bull has now duly confirmed that Albon will continue to race alongside Verstappen, with Gasly remaining at Toro Rosso, next to German GP podium finisher Kvyat.

Contracted drivers for 2020:

Mercedes: 44 Lewis Hamilton / 77 Valtteri Bottas
Ferrari: 5 Sebastian Vettel / 16 Charles Leclerc
Red Bull: 33 Max Verstappen / 23 Alexander Albon
McLaren: 55 Carlos Sainz Jr. / 4 Lando Norris
Renault: 3 Daniel Ricciardo / 31 Esteban Ocon
Alfa Romeo: 7 Kimi Raikkonen / 99 Antonio Giovinazzi
Racing Point: 11 Sergio Perez / 18 Lance Stroll
Toro Rosso: 26 Daniil Kvyat / 10 Pierre Gasly
Haas: 20 Kevin Magnussen / 8 Romain Grosjean
Williams: 63 George Russell / TBD