Brian Pattie will follow Ricky Stenhouse Jr. out the door at Roush Fenway Racing

The #17 Roush Fenway Racing Ford team in the NASCAR Cup Series will undergo a crew chief chief, along with its driver change, for 2020. The team has confirmed that Brian Pattie will not be crew chief next year.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr.'s replacement by Chris Buescher as driver of the #17 in 2020 already has been announced. Stenhouse will replace Buescher at JTG-Daugherty Racing next year. It is unknown with Pattie will follow Stenhouse to JTG-Daugherty or if Buescher will bring crew chief Trent Owens from JTG-Daugherty to RFR next season.

Pattie has been with Roush Fenway Racing since the 2016 season, first working with driver Greg Biffle and, then, moving to the #17 team to work with Stenhouse in 2017. He has six wins as a Cup Series crew chief, his two most recent with Stenhouse in 2017 at Talladega Superspeedway and Daytona International Speedway. He also has wins with Juan Pablo Montoya at Chip Ganassi Racing and Clint Bowyer at Michael Waltrip Racing.

the pairing of Stenhouse and Pattie has failed to make the playoffs the last two seasons. Stenhouse is 21st in the Cup Series standings after 31 races.