Ricky Stenhouse Jr. to replace Chris Buescher at JTG-Daugherty Racing

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will drive the #37 JTG-Daugherty Racing Chevrolet in the NASCAR Cup Series next year, replacing Chris Buescher, who already has been announced as Stenhouse's replacement in the #17 Roush Fenway Racing Ford for next year. Both drivers will finish the 2019 season before making their moves.

“I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to join JTG Daugherty Racing next season,” Stenhouse said. “To be able to see what Tad, Jodi (Geschickter) and Brad (Daugherty, team owners) have built over the years says a lot about the team and the organization both on and off the track. JTG has grown from a small team in a barn to a two-car team with more than 100 employees, and I’m looking forward to joining the family. I’m grateful for the opportunity, and ready to go win races with the ultimate goal of making the Playoffs and competing for a championship.”

Stenhouse's deal with JTG-Daugherty is a multi-year contract but specifics, including the length of the contract, were not released.

Stenhouse is a two-time winner in the Cup Series, with both wins coming on the superspeedways of Daytona International Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway in 2017. through the 31 races, so far, of the 36-race 2019 season, he has a top-five and three top-10 finishes and is 21st in the standings.

Stenhouse has been a full-time driver in the Cup Series since 2013. He has been with Roush Fenway Racing for his entire NASCAR national-level career, to this point. Team owner Jack Roush moved him to the Cup Series full-time after two-consecutive championships in what is now the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2011 and 2012.

Stenhouse will be a teammate to Ryan Preece at JTG-Daugherty Racing.

“We’re very fortunate to have Ricky join us next season to continue to elevate our racing program at JTG Daugherty Racing,” JTG-Daugherty Racing co-owner Tad Geschickter said. “Ricky brings a lot of experience and talent to the team, and we know we can have two playoff-contending teams next season with him and Ryan Preece at the helm of our cars.”