DS Techeetah unveils Season 6 Formula E car

DS Techeetah has unveiled its livery and car for Season 6 of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship.

The reigning Drivers' and Teams' Champions' car will sport a similar livery to its Season 5 predecessor, with the DS E-Tense FE20 pairing black and gold once more - a colour pairing that is synonymous with the Franco-Chinese team.

The car will also bear two laurel wreaths while Jean-Eric Vergne's vehicle will feature two golden stars which celebrate the Frenchman's back-to-back championship wins in the all-electric single-seater series.

“The DS E-TENSE FE20 is a design evolution from our championship-winning car," said Keith Smout, DS Techeetah Chief Commercial Officer. 

"We wanted to stay true to our past and continue to celebrate and honour our success by keeping the now iconic gold and black livery whilst fighting for more titles.

"If you look closely, you can see that the pattern is made out of our cheetah head logo, which also nods to our continued efforts in supporting The Big Cat Sanctuary’s fight in saving the cheetahs and other big cats. A topic that is more pressing than ever and a cause that is close to our hearts.”

For the impending 2019/20 campaign, Vergne will be partnered by Antonio Felix da Costa who takes the place of Porsche-bound Andre Lotterer.

Xavier Mestelan Pinon, DS Performance Director, added: “The team has used the experience that allowed us to win both titles to further develop the potential of the car.

"Our engineers have optimized most of the elements by further developing our winning concept rather than completely rethinking the car. The engine, the inverter and the transfer case have evolved, but the deeper changes are in the heart of the embedded systems.

"All this ambitious research and development work aims to offer the drivers a car that allows them to fight to win and defend both titles in the coming season that starts on 22 November in Riyadh."

Pre-season testing for Formula E's sixth year of competition will take place from October 15-18 at the Ricardo Tormo Circuit in Valencia.