Hong Kong dropped from 2019/20 Formula E calendar

The World Motor Sport Council has approved a revised 2019/20 Formula E calendar, with Hong Kong dropping off the schedule following recent anti-government protests which have hit the state.

The season will kick-off on November 22 with a Saudi Arabia double-header and will finish with another double-header in London on July 25/26, at a new docklands circuit which includes an indoor section using the ExCel Centre.

A TBC slot on the provisional calendar has been removed, which avoids a clash with the Bahrain round of the World Endurance Championship, but the now confirmed Sanya round on March 21 will clash with WEC's Sebring weekend.

Hong Kong is replaced by Marrakesh, which was set to drop off the calendar, but will now remain, meaning the country will host its fourth FE event.

It's believed Hong Kong will return in 2020/21, with all stakeholders insisting they remain committed to the event for the future, but with protests ongoing, it was mutually decided to cancel this year's running of the race.

Santiago, Mexico City, Seoul, Jakarta and London all remain subject to circuit homologation.

Confirmed 2019/20 Formula E Calendar:

# Country Location Date
1 Saudi Arabia Diriyah 22 November
2 Saudi Arabia Diriyah 23 November
3 Chile Santiago de Chile* 18 January
4 Mexico Mexico City* 15 February
5 Morocco Marrakesh 29 February
6 China Sanya 21 March
7 Italy Rome 4 April
8 France Paris 18 April
9 South Korea Seoul* 3 May
10 Indonesia Jakarta* 6 June
11 Germany Berlin 21 June
12 USA New York 11 July
13 United Kingdom London* 25 July
14 United Kingdom London* 26 July