Jamie Chadwick among Aston Martin BRDC award finalists

2019 W Series and MRF Challenge champion Jamie Chadwick has been selected as one of the drivers who will contest for the Aston Martin BRDC Autosport young driver of the year award.

The other three finalists include 2017 British F3 champion and Japanese F3 race winner Enaam Ahmed who will contest his second BRDC award final in three years, as well as current British F3 championship contenders Ayrton Simmons and Jonathon Hoggard.

In order to decide the winner of the award, all four drivers will embark on a series of fitness tests alongside simulator runs on the Red Bull simulator.

After that, the quartet will head to Silverstone for a two-day test to be put through their paces in a MotorSport Vision Formula 2 car, a Ligier LMP3 and a Garage 59-run Aston Martin Vantage GT3.

The winner of the award will be announced during the Autosport Awards ceremony on December 8 and they will receive a test in a Red Bull Formula 1 car, £200,000, a test in Aston Martin's GTE Vantage World Endurance Championship car, as well as full BRDC membership.

BRDC Vice-President Derek Warwick will be the chairman of the judging panel which will include Darren Turner, Alexander Sims, double BTCC champion Jason Plato and many more.

Aston Martin has taken over from McLaren as the new partner for the award, former winners of the award include 2009 F1 World Champion Jenson Button, current F1 drivers Lando Norris and George Russell as well as four-time IndyCar champion Dario Franchitti, DTM drivers Jamie Green and Jake Dennis and WEC champion Anthony Davidson.