Team Penske's Will Power storms to victory after chaotic race in Portland

Team Penske's Will Power claimed his second victory of the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series campaign after chaotic race in the Grand Prix of Portland.

The Australian initially lost his second place starting spot to Scott Dixon and Jack Harvey into Turn 1 on the opening lap, but kept the leaders in sight in the early stages.

Power had followed Dixon through as polesitter Colton Herta fell off the cliff with his tyres before the first round of stops, however, on lap 52, Dixon's car died with the team confirming it suffered from a battery problem which allowed the 2014 series champion to take lead and not look back.

Dixon's Chip Ganassi Racing team-mate Felix Rosenqvist collected his second podium of the season in second place. The Swede was unable to close down Power in the latter stages of the race despite a late caution allowing him to close up.

Championship contender Alexander Rossi would have to settle for third, finishing just behind Rosenqvist. The Andretti Autosport driver narrowly came under threat from Herta, but managed to hold onto the final podium spot.

Herta looked to have led comfortably early on but it was Dixon who was pressuring the rookie throughout the first stint of the race before his tyres fell away before the pit stops.

As he recovered, he made moves on countless drivers including championship leader Josef Newgarden, who would finish in fifth.

Newgarden narrowly missed getting caught up in the five-car crash on the opening lap into Turn 1 and was able to work his way through the field as the laps ticked down.

Spencer Pigot did get caught up in the opening lap melee and was facing the opposite direction, despite his initial setback, he would end his afternoon in sixth place for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Simon Pagenaud also suffered a setback on the first lap after getting hit in the rear by Carlin's Max Chilton, but solid strategy work from his Penske team allowed the Indy 500 winner to finish in seventh.

Matheus Leist scored his best result of the year in eighth place for A.J Foyt's team who needed a solid result after losing their ABC sponsorship for the 2020 season.

Sebastien Bourdais would cross the line in ninth for Dale Coyne Racing ahead of the Carlin pair of Charlie Kimball and Chilton respectively.

Graham Rahal took responsibility for this role in the opening lap pile-up which saw himself and four other cars eliminated which included himself, Zach Veach and the Arrow SPM pair of James Hinchcliffe and Conor Daly.

Ryan Hunter-Reay also caused a spot of bother on lap 14 as he wiped out Harvey into Turn 1 after missing his braking point whilst trying to defend from team-mate Rossi.

The double-points season finale at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca is set scheduled for September 20-22.