Jamie Green takes first 2019 pole at DTM's 500th race

Jamie Green has claimed pole position for the sunday DTM race at the Lausitzring. The Briton, driving for Audi Sport Team Rosberg, set a time of 01:35:397 to beat out Jonathan Aberdein and title contenders Nico Müller and Rene Rast.

Rene Rast initially held the fastest time at the end of the first set of laps, until both Müller and Green went faster. It was Green who was quickest when cars returned to the pit lane, and he didn't improve after he went out for a second time, much like his rivals.

The only driver able to significantly improve was Team WRT's Aberdein, who set a 01:35:498, just a tenth short of the top spot.

Behind Aberdein, Müller took third, using the one extra point to close in further on Rene Rast, who came fourth.

Robin Frijns placed fifth, making it an all-Audi top five. Marco Wittmann was the only driver able to mount any kind of challenge against the Audi horde, placing sixth. The top ten was completed by Loic Duval, Pietro Fittipaldi, Timo Glock and Mike Rockenfeller.

Sheldon van der Linde led proceedings early on, but had to settle for eleventh place ahead Joel Eriksson, Philipp Eng and Bruno Spengler.

The R-Motorsport Aston Martins occupied the last four grid slots, with Di Resta quickest ahead of Dennis, von Habsburg and Juncadella

Lausitzring 2 - Qualifying Result

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Flag   Jamie Green Audi Team Rosberg
2 Flag   Jonathan Aberdein Audi WRT Racing
3 Flag   Nico Muller Audi Team Abt Sportsline
4 Flag   Rene Rast Audi Team Rosberg
5 Flag   Robin Frijns Audi Team Abt Sportsline
6 Flag   Marco Wittmann BMW Team RMG
7 Flag   Loic Duval Audi Team Phoenix
8 Flag   Pietro Fittipaldi Audi WRT Racing
9 Flag   Timo Glock BMW Team RMG
10 Flag   Mike Rockenfeller Audi Team Phoenix
11 Flag   Sheldon Van Der Linde BMW Team RBM
12 Flag   Joel Eriksson BMW Team RBM
13 Flag   Philipp Eng BMW Team RBM
14 Flag   Bruno Spengler BMW Team RBM
15 Flag   Paul di Resta Aston Martin R-Motorsport
16 Flag   Jake Dennis Aston Martin R-Motorsport
17 Flag   Ferdinand von Habsburg Aston Martin R-Motorsport
18 Flag   Daniel Juncadella Aston Martin R-Motorsport