Mechanical disaster for Rene Rast hands Nico Muller victory at Lausitzring

Nico Müller has won the Saturday DTM race at the Lausitzring after championship leader Rene Rast retired in the early stages with a mechanical failure.

Rast led from pole position in the early stages of the race, until he was struck by problems on lap 7, dropping him to last before eventually retiring several laps later.

This handed the lead to Müller, who held off a challenge from Audi stablemate Robin Frijns to take victory and take significant bite out of Rast's championship lead.

Marco Wittmann and Mike Rockenfeller did battle in the closing stages for third place, with the Audi veteran eventually besting the double champion to take third, with Wittmann fourth ahead of Philipp Eng.

Eng himself had a close encounter with Pietro Fittipaldi, narrowly avoiding contact and an unsafe release penalty when the two pitted together on lap 15. A frustrated Eng was eventually able to get past the Brazilian rookie, with Loic Duval finishing sixth and Fittipaldi seventh.

The top ten was rounded out by Joel Eriksson, Bruno Spengler and Jamie Green. Green was one of two drivers who did serve a penalty for an unsafe pit release, with Jonathan Aberdein being the other.

In total, sixteen drivers made it to the finish, with Timo Glock being the only other driver to join Rast as a retirement.

Lausitzring 1 - Race Result

Pos Driver Team Gap
1   Nico MullerAudi Team Abt Sportsline
2   Robin FrijnsAudi Team Abt Sportsline2.496
3   Mike RockenfellerAudi Team Phoenix3.206
4   Marco WittmannBMW Team RMG5.807
5   Philipp EngBMW Team RBM13.477
6   Loic DuvalAudi Team Phoenix14.742
7   Pietro FittipaldiAudi WRT Racing16.859
8   Joel ErikssonBMW Team RBM17.532
9   Bruno SpenglerBMW Team RBM21.472
10   Jamie GreenAudi Team Rosberg34.098
10   Paul di RestaAston Martin R-Motorsport24.318
11   Jake DennisAston Martin R-Motorsport34.511
12   Daniel JuncadellaAston Martin R-Motorsport43.357
14   Jonathan AberdeinAudi WRT Racing45.084
15   Ferdinand von HabsburgAston Martin R-Motorsport51.948
16   Sheldon Van Der LindeBMW Team RBM61.608
17   Timo GlockBMW Team RMGDNF
18   Rene RastAudi Team RosbergDNF