Rast takes pole in Audi-dominated Brands Hatch qualifying

Rene Rast has taken pole position for the Sunday DTM race at Brands Hatch in a session that saw Audi drivers take a clean sweep of the top eight grid slots.

Rast was untouchable during the session, with his pole time of 01:51:134 just under three-tenths quicker than veteran Loic Duval, who will be lining up in second place ahead of Dutchman Robin Frijns and Jamie Green.

Assen race winner Mike Rockenfeller came fifth ahead of Rast's title rival Nico Müller, while Team WRT team-mates Pietro Fittipaldi and Jonathan Aberdein had a far better day than yesterday. The pair came in seventh and eight respectively.

Philipp Eng proved to be the quickest driver in the BMW camp, but the Austrian was still a full second off Rast's pole time in ninth. The Aston Martin of Daniel Juncadella completed the top ten.

Marco Wittmann, who took both pole position and the race win yesterday, did not come close to repeating his Saturday success. The double champion's fastest time of 01:16:296 left him well over second clear in twelfth, behind Timo Glock who took the eleventh grid spot.

Sheldon van der Linde came thirteenth, ahead of Joel Eriksson, Paul di Resta and Bruno Spengler. Jake Dennis, who had an exceptional qualifying yesterday, similarly struggled and will form the last row of the grid together with Ferdinand von Habsburg, who qualified last.

Brands Hatch 2 - Qualifying Result

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Flag   Rene Rast Audi Team Rosberg 1:15.134
2 Flag   Loic Duval Audi Team Phoenix 1:15.432 0.298
3 Flag   Robin Frijns Audi Team Abt Sportsline 1:15.834 0.700
4 Flag   Jamie Green Audi Team Rosberg 1:15.919 0.785
5 Flag   Mike Rockenfeller Audi Team Phoenix 1:15.959 0.825
6 Flag   Nico Muller Audi Team Abt Sportsline 1:15.968 0.834
7 Flag   Pietro Fittipaldi Audi WRT Racing 1:16.015 0.881
8 Flag   Jonathan Aberdein Audi WRT Racing 1:16.016 0.882
9 Flag   Philipp Eng BMW Team RBM 1:16.175 1.041
10 Flag   Daniel Juncadella Aston Martin R-Motorsport 1:16.275 1.141
11 Flag   Timo Glock BMW Team RMG 1:16.274 1.140
12 Flag   Marco Wittmann BMW Team RMG 1:16.296 1.162
13 Flag   Sheldon Van Der Linde BMW Team RBM 1:16.396 1.262
14 Flag   Joel Eriksson BMW Team RBM 1:16.425 1.291
15 Flag   Paul di Resta Aston Martin R-Motorsport 1:16.710 1.576
16 Flag   Bruno Spengler BMW Team RBM 1:16.715 1.581
17 Flag   Jake Dennis Aston Martin R-Motorsport 1:16.805 1.671
18 Flag   Ferdinand von Habsburg Aston Martin R-Motorsport 1:16.997 1.863