Insight: Hungarian Grand Prix - Form Guide

Podium at 2018 Hungarian GP

Formula 1 heads straight from Germany to Hungary for the last pre-summer grand prix at the Hungaroring, which has hosted the sport concurrently since 1986. Motorsport Week takes a look at the form guide.


Lewis Hamilton is the HungaroKing – he has won the event on six occasions, more than any other driver in the history of the sport.

Hamilton won in 2007, 2009 and 2012 for McLaren, while his 2013 victory was the first of many in Mercedes colours, before he expanded his collection in 2016 and 2018.

Sebastian Vettel never won the event during his Red Bull days but in his first year with Ferrari in 2015 he ended his Hungary hoodoo and followed it up with another win in 2017.

Elsewhere on the current grid Kimi Raikkonen emerged triumphant in 2005 for McLaren while Daniel Ricciardo claimed the honours for Red Bull in a scintillating wet/dry race in 2014.


Hamilton has taken six poles to go with his six wins – though that leaves him one short of current record-holder Michael Schumacher.

Hamilton qualified upfront in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2018, and was also awarded pole position in 2007 in the wake of Fernando Alonso’s penalty in that infamous session.

Vettel took back-to-back poles with Red Bull across 2010/11 and in 2017 topped qualifying for Ferrari, while Raikkonen led Q3 in 2006.


Raikkonen has tasted the victor’s champagne at the Hungaroring just once but he has a total of nine podiums at the event, more than any other driver in history.

Alongside his 2005 win, Raikkonen finished runner-up in 2003, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2017, and also took third in 2008 and 2018.

Hamilton – in 2014 – has taken just one podium in Hungary that wasn’t a win, while Vettel has six podiums at the venue: runner-up in 2011 and 2018, third in 2010 and 2013.

Daniel Ricciardo took a hat-trick of podiums across 2014/15/16 (win, third, third), while Romain Grosjean was third for Lotus in 2012.

Daniil Kvyat claimed his maiden podium for Red Bull at the event in 2015 while third for Valtteri Bottas in 2017 marks the sole time he has taken away a trophy from the grand prix.