Mike Rockenfeller takes first DTM win in two years

Mike Rockenfeller has won the Sunday DTM race in Assen ahead of Marco Wittmann and Nico Müller. The 2013 DTM champion crossed the line first in a race that was dominated by blistering tyres. The victory marked Rockenfeller's first DTM win since he took the chequered flag at Zandvoort in 2017.

Polesitter Rene Rast led the field for most of the race, but was hunted and passed by Rockenfeller as he struggled with his rapidly degrading tyres, forcing him to make a second stop. The championship leader recovered to finish fifth behind the podium finishers and Jonathan Aberdein, who had a strong showing in the Team WRT Audi.

Rast was not the only one who struggled with his tyres on the fast TT Circuit. Loic Duval, Philipp Eng, Timo Glock and Sheldon van der Linde all had to pit for new rubber, leaving them outside of the top ten.

Marco Wittmann drove a remarkable race from last on the grid to finish second, taking just four laps to get into the top ten and further moving up the field after battles with the likes of Duval and Robin Frijns. Frijns, who had a crash in the Saturday race, went on to finish sixth in front of his home crowd.

R-Motorsport had a good race on the Dutch tarmac, with Daniel Juncadella and Paul di Resta finishing seventh and eight respectively. The top ten was completed by Jamie Green and Pietro Fittipaldi.

Bruno Spenger and Jake Dennis both retired with mechanical issues, while Joel Eriksson suffered a spectacular puncture on the front straight and was forced to retire from the race.

Assen 2 - Race Result

Pos Driver Team Gap
1   Mike RockenfellerAudi Team Phoenix
2   Marco WittmannBMW Team RMG4.5
3   Nico MullerAudi Team Abt Sportsline6.3
4   Jonathan AberdeinAudi WRT Racing17.0
5   Rene RastAudi Team Rosberg19.3
6   Robin FrijnsAudi Team Abt Sportsline21.6
7   Daniel JuncadellaAston Martin R-Motorsport21.9
8   Paul di RestaAston Martin R-Motorsport22.5
9   Jamie GreenAudi Team Rosberg25.9
10   Pietro FittipaldiAudi WRT Racing36.0
11   Loic DuvalAudi Team Phoenix36.4
12   Ferdinand von HabsburgAston Martin R-Motorsport41.4
13   Philipp EngBMW Team RBM47.9
14   Timo GlockBMW Team RMG57.4
15   Sheldon Van Der LindeBMW Team RBM58.5
16   Joel ErikssonBMW Team RBMDNF
17   Bruno SpenglerBMW Team RBMDNF
18   Jake DennisAston Martin R-MotorsportDNF