Emma Kimilainen battles back to take Assen W Series victory

Polesitter Emma Kimilainen had to battle back to the front to claim her maiden W Series victory in Assen after losing the lead on the opening lap.

Kimilainen got a poor start from the her grid slot, allowing second-placed Alice Powell to draw alongside into Turn 1 and capture the lead as they exited the corner.

Meanwhile championship leader Jamie Chadwick made the best start of the three, but got caught up by the slow starting Kimilainen and was forced to back off, slotting in behind the Finnish racer.

Chadwick's title rival Beitske Visser lost out to Caitlin Wood at the start, meaning she dropped down to fifth – had she finished there and Chadwick won the race, the title would have been done and dusted right there.

Visser however was able to fight back in the closing stages of the race to overhaul Wood and finish fourth. She even chased down Chadwick to finish just half a second shy – though she was never quite close enough to mount an overtake with a late error costing her time.

Meanwhile race leader Powell ran wide at Turn 1 with just six minutes remaining, allowing Kimilainen to retake the lead where she looked comfortable, opening up a five second gap to see the chequered flag unchallenged, with Powell settling for second and Chadwick taking the final podium spot.

The race saw a Lap 1 Safety Car when Miki Koyama and Tasmin Pepper collided, forcing both to retire.

With Visser fourth, the title race goes on to the final round at Brands Hatch, though it's very much in Chadwick's favour as she holds a 13-point advantage heading to her home event.

Wood was fifth with Gosia Rdest 6th ahead of Jessica Hawkins, Vicky Piria, Marta Garcia and Sarah Moore in tenth. 

Assen - Race Result

Pos Driver Gap
1   Emma Kimilainen
2   Alice Powell5.767
3   Jamie Chadwick8.762
4   Beitske Visser9.363
5   Caitlin Wood18.579
6   Gosia Rdest20.077
7   Jessica Hawkins22.481
8   Vicky Piria25.105
9   Marta Garcia25.636
10   Sarah Moore25.839
11   Esmee Hawkey33.919
12   Naomi Schiff41.869
13   Sabre Cook50.614
14   Megan Gilkes55.456
15   Fabienne Wohlwend64.644
16   Shea HolbrookDNF
17   Tasmin PepperDNF
18   Miki KoyamaDNF