Laurens Vanthoor leads Porsche one-two with first IMSA pole

Porsche has locked out the front row for the Northeast Grand Prix at Lime Rock Park, with Laurens Vanthoor capturing his first pole position in the IMSA Weathertech Sportscar Championship. The Belgian posted a time of 00:49:133 to beat his stablemate Nick Tandy by 0.052s.

The Northeast Grand Prix will not see any prototype action, as only GT Le Mans and GT Daytona will compete in this round of the championship.

BMW looked to be continuing the form they've had in recent weeks and even held provisional pole with the #25 M8 GTE, but Connor de Philippi's 00:49:322 was only good enough for third place. Dirk Mueller completes the second row in the #66 Ford, three-tenths off the pole time.

Corvette set the pace early on in the session, with Oliver Gavin fastest before Porsche and BMW started setting quicker lap times. In the end, Gavin had to settle for sixth. He was five-hundredths behind his team-mate Antonio Garcia.

The GTLM grid was rounded off by the #67 Ford of Ryan Briscoe and the #24 BMW of John Edwards.

GT Daytona saw a fast and furious session, with BMW, Porsche, Acura and Mercedes all competing for the top spot. Trent Hindman proved quickest as he set a time of 00:51:456 in the Meyer Shank Racing #86 Acura.

That put him just 0.026s clear of Riley's Ben Keating in the #33 Mercedes-AMG GT3. Corey Lewis was third in the #48 Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo. Robbie Foley, polesitter last time out in Canada, completed the top five.