Bruno Spengler takes record 5th victory at the Norisring

BMW's Bruno Spengler claimed a record fifth victory at the Norisring and his 16th DTM win, as he made a brilliant start to take the lead on the opening lap and remained there until the chequered flag – ending a two-year victory drought!

The Team RBM driver had started down in sixth – promoted from seventh after Jamie Green was demoted five places from second on the grid after speeding under red flag conditions during qualifying – and managed to move up to fourth at the start and then slipped down the inside at the hairpin to move into second alongside poleman Rast, but enjoyed better traction out of the corner and moved into the lead on the run down to Turn 4.

Rast meanwhile tried to attack but was spun by third-placed Nico Muller, who tapped the rear of the Audi. Rast dropped down the the very back of the field as he recovered. He and a handful of others, including Loic Duval who also enjoyed a strong start to hold third on Lap 1, pitted after one tour of the short eight-turn circuit.

Norisring: Drivers' Standings | Teams' Standings

Muller was later handed a drive-through penalty for spinning Rast, but that didn't stop the Abt Sportsline driver attempting to pass Spengler for the lead. On the run into the hairpin Muller got his Audi ahead but outbraked himself and went wide, allowing Spengler back through.

Muller went on to serve his drive-through and dropped down the order but was able to recover to finish eighth, ironically right behind Rast who once again put in a strong drive to make up positions in the race, finishing just 25 seconds adrift of victor Spengler.

Jamie Green was also another to pit after the opening lap and that strategy worked well, allowing the Team Rosberg driver to finish second after a move on Philipp Eng in the closing laps, Eng would go on to finish fifth as both Mike Rockenfeller and Robin Frijns found a way past to claim third and fourth respectively.

Duval was sixth ahead of Rast, Muller and Timo Glock, who came from the back of the grid. Aston Martin's Daniel Juncadella completed the points paying positions in tenth, as the other R-Motorsport cars finished 11th, 12th and 18th, with Paul di Resta retiring, along with Sheldon Van Der Linde and Marco Wittmann.

Norisring 2 - Race Result

Pos Driver Team Gap
1   Bruno SpenglerBMW Team RBM
2   Jamie GreenAudi Team Rosberg5.765
3   Mike RockenfellerAudi Team Phoenix6.833
4   Robin FrijnsAudi Team Abt Sportsline11.695
5   Philipp EngBMW Team RBM16.365
6   Loic DuvalAudi Team Phoenix17.590
7   Rene RastAudi Team Rosberg25.480
8   Nico MullerAudi Team Abt Sportsline29.080
9   Timo GlockBMW Team RMG33.535
10   Daniel JuncadellaAston Martin R-Motorsport37.941
11   Ferdinand von HabsburgAston Martin R-Motorsport39.516
12   Jake DennisAston Martin R-Motorsport1 Lap
13   Joel ErikssonBMW Team RBM1 Lap
14   Jonathan AberdeinAudi WRT Racing1 Lap
15   Pietro FittipaldiAudi WRT Racing2 Laps
16   Marco WittmannBMW Team RMGDNF
17   Sheldon Van Der LindeBMW Team RBMDNF
18   Paul di RestaAston Martin R-MotorsportDNF