Sergio Sette Camara beats Luca Ghiotto to Austrian F2 Sprint Race win, Mick Schumacher stars

DAMS' Sergio Sette Camara claimed his first victory of the 2019 FIA Formula 2 season after fending off Luca Ghiotto in the final laps of the Austrian Sprint Race.

The Brazilian had started from fourth but quickly scythed through his rivals to take the lead of the race early on. Carlin's Louis Deletraz tried to keep up with the McLaren development driver before dropping out on Lap 20 with what appeared to be brake failure, causing him to slam into the outside wall of Turn 1 which brought out a Safety Car.

Ghiotto swiftly got past UNI-Virtuosi team-mate Guanyu Zhou after the restart and made a charge towards Camara as the pair quickly gapped the cars behind but was unable to catch the Brazilian and took the runner-up spot for the second time in the weekend.

Championship leader Nyck De Vries charged to the front of the field early on after starting from sixth on the grid, but an issue with his ART car on Lap 4 on the exit of Turn 4 saw the Dutchman drop back to his starting position and had to push hard to recover to the final spot on the podium.

Mick Schumacher was one of the stars of the Sprint Race after climbing through the field from 18th on the grid to finish fourth, ending a six-race streak of not scoring any points.

The Ferrari-backed driver was as high as 11th on the opening lap and continued to pass his rivals with precision as the race wore on. The German challenged De Vries in the final laps but was unable to get a clear cut pass on the Dutchman.

Nobuharu Matsushita proved once again he can manage the sensitive Pirelli rubber in his Carlin as he made moves late on in the race, eventually crossing the finish line in fifth.

Nicholas Latifi lost more ground in his championship battle with De Vries, only being able to manage a sixth place finish in a tough race for the Canadian.

The DAMS driver led a train of cars across the line as pole-sitter Jordan King struggled to hold onto his tyres in seventh, ahead of Zhou who claimed the final point on offer in eighth.

Rounding out the top 10 were the two Sauber Junior Team By Charouz cars of Callum Ilott and Juan Manuel Correa in ninth and 10th respectively.