Revised Austrian GP grid: 18 drivers change position

The top three in Austrian GP Qualifying

The Austrian Grand Prix grid has been shuffled around with various penalties being applied, meaning 18 drivers have changed position.

Lewis Hamilton drops two places from second to fourth, despite being handed a three-place grid penalty. This is down to the way the FIA calculate penalties, and with Kevin Magnussen in fifth serving a five-place drop for a new gearbox, it limits the places Hamilton can drop.

That promotes Max Verstappen to the front-row, with Mercedes' Valtteri Bottas joining team-mate Hamilton on the second row.

Magnussen's penalty promotes five drivers up a place each, with Romain Grosjean remaining in 11th. He and polesitter Charles Leclerc are the only drivers to remain in their original positions.

Nico Hulkenberg drops just three places, despite a five-place penalty, thanks to drops for McLaren's Carlos Sainz and Toro Rosso's Alexander Albon, who drop to the rear with engine change penalties.

George Russell, who was handed a three-place drop for blocking Daniil Kvyat, actually gains a position.

Provisional Austrian Grand Prix Grid:

Pos Driver Team   +/-
1 Flag   Charles Leclerc Ferrari Car Icon -
2 Flag   Max Verstappen Red Bull Car Icon ↑1
3 Flag   Valtteri Bottas Mercedes Car Icon ↑1
4 Flag   Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Car Icon ↓2
5 Flag   Lando Norris McLaren Car Icon ↑1
6 Flag   Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Car Icon ↑1
7 Flag   Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Car Icon ↑1
8 Flag   Pierre Gasly Red Bull Car Icon ↑1
9 Flag   Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Car Icon ↑1
10 Flag   Kevin Magnussen Haas Car Icon ↓5
11 Flag   Romain Grosjean Haas Car Icon -
12 Flag   Daniel Ricciardo Renault Car Icon ↑2
13 Flag   Sergio Perez Racing Point Car Icon ↑3
14 Flag   Lance Stroll Racing Point Car Icon ↑3
15 Flag   Nico Hulkenberg Renault Car Icon ↓3
16 Flag   Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso Car Icon ↑2
17 Flag   Robert Kubica Williams Car Icon ↑3
18 Flag   George Russell Williams Car Icon ↑1
19 Flag   Alexander Albon Toro Rosso Car Icon ↓6
20 Flag   Carlos Sainz McLaren Car Icon ↓5