Nico Muller takes Misano win as Rene Rast recovers to podium after puncture

Audi's Nico Muller claimed Sunday's race two victory at Misano, aided by some misfortune for poleman Rene Rast.

Rast suffered from a poor getaway at the race start to fall back to third as Robin Frijns took up the top spot from second on the grid. Nico Muller moved into second as Rast battled with Jonathan Aberdein and Marco Wittmann into Turn 8.

The trio entered the corner three abreast which meant one thing; back out or contact. Unfortunately for Wittmann, none of the trio chose the former option and they all came together, with Wittmann the unlucky one as he was pushed wide and into the gravel trap and was unable to recover.

Frijns held onto the lead and opened up a small gap before falling back into the clutches of an attacking Rast, who had earlier passed Muller for second, before moving into the lead with a stunning pass. 

Muller then passed Frijns before Loic Duval attempted to do the same, but it was more than half-hearted and he span his fellow Audi driver, allowing the chasing pack to move ahead of the Dutchman, who eventually got going again down in sixth.

Duval was handed a drive-through penalty for causing the collision and he dropped out of points contention to finish 11th.

Bad luck then struck race leader Rast as his left-rear tyre suffered a puncture, forcing him to crawl back to the pits. Having done so carefully, he reemerged in ninth but quickly worked his way up to fourth to pass Philip Eng, who then sold him a dummy to take the position back.

Rast went on to finish behind Eng, but was able to claim the final podium spot, Eng second and Muller taking the win.

Frijns settled for fourth, narrowly ahead of Pietro Fittipaldi and Joel Eriksson.

Aberdein was seventh ahead of Bruno Spengler, Sheldon Van Der Linde, with Mike Rockenfeller completing the top ten points paying positions.

Andrea Dovizioso was the final runner with a spin costing him a potentially better result.

The race saw two other retirements alongside lap one retiree Wittmann, with Timo Glock and Paul di Resta both failing to see the chequered flag.

Misano 2 - Race Result

Pos Driver Team Gap
1   Nico MullerAudi Team Abt Sportsline
2   Philipp EngBMW Team RBM7.628
3   Rene RastAudi Team Rosberg16.804
4   Robin FrijnsAudi Team Abt Sportsline20.072
5   Pietro FittipaldiAudi WRT Racing20.430
6   Joel ErikssonBMW Team RBM23.645
7   Jonathan AberdeinAudi WRT Racing24.813
8   Bruno SpenglerBMW Team RBM28.460
9   Sheldon Van Der LindeBMW Team RBM29.003
10   Mike RockenfellerAudi Team Phoenix47.798
11   Loic DuvalAudi Team Phoenix47.902
12   Ferdinand von HabsburgAston Martin R-Motorsport48.678
13   Jake DennisAston Martin R-Motorsport51.588
14   Daniel JuncadellaAston Martin R-Motorsport74.053
15   Andrea DoviziosoAudi WRT Racing76.392
16   Timo GlockBMW Team RMGDNF
17   Paul di RestaAston Martin R-MotorsportDNF
18   Marco WittmannBMW Team RMGDNF