Jamie Chadwick takes her second W Series victory at Misano

Jamie Chadwick became the first two-time W Series race winner on Saturday at Misano as she came through from second to control the race.

Chadwick started alongside polesitter Fabienne Wohlwend, and although both got good starts, Wohlwend experienced some minor wheel spin which allowed Chadwick to take the advantage into Turn 1.

Wohlwend then had to defend from behind as Beitske Visser and Alice Powell crowded the Lichenstein racer at the first turn. Visser got through cleanly to take up second behind Chadwick, whilst Wohlwend and Powell made contact.

Powell was thrown into the air, landing hard before ending up in the gravel trap and causing a Safety Car. Wohlwend escaped any damage in the wheel-to-wheel contact and resumed in third.

Chadwick had to control the restart, which she did comfortably to retain the lead on Lap 4. The leading trio were in another class as they began to pull away for a tense battle over the lead. Chadwick and Visser then dropped Wohlwend in the closing stages, but Visser couldn't find a way past and had to settle for the runner-up spot, finishing less than half a second behind the race winner.

Japan's Miki Koyama came through from sixth to finish fourth ahead of Vicky Piria, Marta Garcia and Tasmin Pepper, who came through from tenth to finish seventh.

Sabre Cook made up an impressive an impressive seven places to finish eighth ahead of Sarah Moore and Vivien Keszthelyi.

Misano - Race Result

Pos Driver Gap
1   Jamie Chadwick
2   Beitske Visser0.587
3   Fabienne Wohlwend2.285
4   Miki Koyama10.434
5   Vicky Piria14.200
6   Marta Garcia16.118
7   Tasmin Pepper19.009
8   Sabre Cook28.518
9   Sarah Moore28.994
10   Vivien Keszthelyi29.460
11   Esmee Hawkey31.265
12   Sarah Bovy32.222
13   Gosia Rdest33.671
14   Caitlin Wood34.043
15   Jessica Hawkins36.002
16   Shea Holbrook39.107
17   Megan Gilkes39.334
18   Naomi Schiff40.795
19   Alice PowellDNF