Marco Wittmann completes last-to-first victory at Misano

Marco Wittmann claimed a sensational victory in Misano's race one ahead of Rene Rast and Loic Duval.

The double champion was forced to start from the back of the grid after failing to set a laptime in qualifying. The BMW driver then pitted on lap one, allowing him to quickly charge up the field after Joel Eriksson came to a halt on lap 3, bringing out the Safety Car. 

After the restart, Wittmann quickly rose up the order on new tyres and inherited the lead after the leaders came in for their pitstops around lap 15. Wittmann then managed to keep a comfortable gap back to the chasing Rast to take a remarkable victory.

Behind Duval, Bruno Spengler and Nico Müller completed the top five ahead of Mike Rockenfeller, Philipp Eng and Jonathan Aberdein. The South African started on the front row, but struggled in the race, resulting in an eighth place finish.

The top ten was rounded out by Sheldon van der Linde and Timo Glock, with MotoGP's Andrea Dovizisio finishing a credible twelfth on his DTM debut. 

The finishing order was completed by Daniel Juncadella, Ferdinand Habsburg, Jake Dennis and Robin Frijns, who spent most of the race in the garage with a technical issue.

Paul di Resta was the only other retirement.

Misano 1 - Race Result

Pos Driver Team Gap
1   Marco WittmannBMW Team RMG
2   Rene RastAudi Team Rosberg0.823
3   Loic DuvalAudi Team Phoenix1.768
4   Bruno SpenglerBMW Team RBM2.285
5   Nico MullerAudi Team Abt Sportsline2.850
6   Mike RockenfellerAudi Team Phoenix3.246
7   Philipp EngBMW Team RBM4.492
8   Sheldon Van Der LindeBMW Team RBM4.723
9   Jonathan AberdeinAudi WRT Racing4.834
10   Timo GlockBMW Team RMG4.842
11   Pietro FittipaldiAudi WRT Racing5.004
12   Ferdinand von HabsburgAston Martin R-Motorsport5.718
13   Daniel JuncadellaAston Martin R-Motorsport5.894
14   Andrea DoviziosoAudi WRT Racing61.928
15   Jake DennisAston Martin R-Motorsport68.229
16   Paul di RestaAston Martin R-MotorsportDNF
17   Robin FrijnsAudi Team Abt SportslineDNF
18   Joel ErikssonBMW Team RBMDNF