Rene Rast takes pole for race one at Misano

Rene Rast has taken pole position for the saturday DTM race at Misano. The 2017 DTM champion posted a time of 01:25:294, which was enough to hold off Audi Team WRT's Jonathan Aberdein for pole.

The opening minutes of the session were frantic, with a multitude of drivers setting the fastest lap in quick succession. At the end of the first run, Rast put in his fastest lap, which would remain unbeaten for the rest of the session.

Behind Rast and Aberdein, Audi also locked out the second row of the grid as Loic Duval outqualified Robin Frijns by just under two-tenths to take third place. Sheldon van der Linde was the quickest BMW driver with a time of 01:25:840, qualifying ahead of Bruno Spengler and championship leader Philipp Eng. 

The top ten was completed by Nico Müller, Mike Rockenfeller and Timo Glock. Jake Dennis was the quickest of the Aston Martin driver in 13th place, ahead of team-mate Daniel Juncadella and DTM debutant and MotoGP star Andrea Dovisiozo.

Marco Wittmann was the only driver not to set a laptime. The double champion spent the entire session in the garage and did not go out on track.

Misano 1 - Qualifying Result

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Flag   Rene Rast Audi Team Rosberg 1:25.294
2 Flag   Jonathan Aberdein Audi WRT Racing 1:25.362 0.068
3 Flag   Loic Duval Audi Team Phoenix 1:25.543 0.249
4 Flag   Robin Frijns Audi Team Abt Sportsline 1:25.680 0.386
5 Flag   Sheldon Van Der Linde BMW Team RBM 1:25.840 0.546
6 Flag   Bruno Spengler BMW Team RBM 1:25.900 0.606
7 Flag   Philipp Eng BMW Team RBM 1:25.943 0.649
8 Flag   Nico Muller Audi Team Abt Sportsline 1:25.978 0.684
9 Flag   Mike Rockenfeller Audi Team Phoenix 1:26.023 0.729
10 Flag   Timo Glock BMW Team RMG 1:26.153 0.859
11 Flag   Pietro Fittipaldi Audi WRT Racing 1:26.583 1.289
12 Flag   Joel Eriksson BMW Team RBM 1:26.832 1.538
13 Flag   Jake Dennis Aston Martin R-Motorsport 1:26.841 1.547
14 Flag   Daniel Juncadella Aston Martin R-Motorsport 1:26.887 1.593
15 Flag   Andrea Dovizioso Audi WRT Racing 1:27.037 1.743
16 Flag   Ferdinand von Habsburg Aston Martin R-Motorsport 1:27.191 1.897
17 Flag   Paul di Resta Aston Martin R-Motorsport 1:27.772 2.478
18 Flag   Marco Wittmann BMW Team RMG