Jamie Chadwick wins inaugural W Series race at Hockenheim

Jamie Chadwick made history at Hockenheim on Saturday as she was crowned the very first winner of the all-female W Series.

Chadwick started from pole position after dominating a wet qualifying session, where she was almost two seconds clear of her rivals in identical machinery, but lost the lead on the opening lap as she carried too much speed in the hairpin on a damp track, running very wide and allowing Sarah Moore through to lead.

Moore got a good start from third on the grid behind second-placed Fabienne Wohlwend, but managed to use the slipstream on the exit of Turn 2 to snatch second before Chadwick's error.

The Safety Car made an appearance following a clash on the opening lap when Emma Kimilainen, who had dropped back from fourth on the grid to 14th, was taken out by Canada's Megan Gilkes, who couldn't slow her car at the hairpin. Both retired on the spot.

At the restart Moore came under attack from Chadwick immediately, as the #55 launched up the inside on the exit of Turn 1, briefly taking to the grass, before completing the move into Turn 2. That hindered Moore on the exit, allowing Alice Powell to take second.

Moore's fall continued as she made a small error, running wide at the hairpin, allowing both Marta Garcia and Beitske Visser past.

Meanwhile Powell was chasing down Chadwick, but never quite got close enough to make a move for the lead and before she knew it, was under pressure herself from a charging Garcia.

The top three remained the same as the minutes ticked down though, with Chadwick taking the victory ahead of Powell and Garcia.

Visser was fourth, Moore fifth and Wohlwend sixth.

Seventh went to Japan's Miki Koyama, who got a brilliant start to make up four places by Turn 2. Esmee Hawkey, Tasmin Pepper and Gosia Rdest completed the top 10.

Zolder will host the next round of the season on May 17-18.

Hockenheim - Race Result

Pos Driver Gap
1   Jamie Chadwick
2   Alice Powell1.329
3   Marta Garcia1.692
4   Beitske Visser3.473
5   Sarah Moore5.771
6   Fabienne Wohlwend7.049
7   Miki Koyama8.811
8   Esmee Hawkey17.136
9   Tasmin Pepper18.889
10   Gosia Rdest20.384
11   Caitlin Wood21.573
12   Jessica Hawkins22.995
13   Sabre Cook23.365
14   Naomi Schiff25.332
15   Vicky Piria31.757
16   Shea Holbrook46.206
17   Emma KimilainenDNF
18   Megan GilkesDNF