Jean-Eric Vergne fastest in red-flagged Rome E-Prix FP2

Jean-Eric Vergne set the pace in a red-flagged final practice ahead of qualifying for the Rome E-Prix, topping the timesheets in the 30-minute session for DS Techeetah.

The reigning Formula E champion set a best lap time of a 1m 29.370s to dislodge BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Antonio Felix da Costa from the top of the timesheets in the dying stages of the session, with the current leader in the Drivers' Championship emerging as Vergne's closest challenger.

Da Costa's time, a 1m 29.525s was good enough for second although Sebastien Buemi followed close behind, fronting a Nissan e.dams 3-4 in the session, only 0.001s slower than the Portuguese racer ahead.

While Oliver Rowland was fourth after topping FP1 for the Japanese marque, Mitch Evans followed the Briton in fifth in what was an encouraging session for Jaguar Racing, only 0.396s slower than Vergne's pace.

Andre Lotterer was sixth fastest in the second DS Techeetah car, 0.454s slower than his team-mate while Sam Bird, who set the early pace for Envision Virgin Racing, was seventh. 

Alexander Sims followed Bird in eighth while Daniel Abt was the lead works Audi driver after Lucas di Grassi tapped the wall early on in the session, stripping a chunk of branding from one of the Circuito Cittadino dell'EUR's barriers to secure 20th.

Jerome d'Ambrosio completed the top 10 as the lead Mahindra with team-mate Pascal Wehrlein only managing the 19th fastest time, 2.442s off the pace.

Outside of the top 10, Edoardo Mortara was the lead Venturi in 11th after Felipe Massa's running came to an early end following a driveshaft failure with 12 minutes of the session to go while Stoffel Vandoorne spoiled his best run around the 2.870km-long track in the final sector to end FP2 in 12th for HWA.

Formula E returnee Maximilian Gunther was the fastest GEOX Dragon car in 13th after Jose Maria Lopez crashed heavily in Turn 16 only seven minutes into the session to cause a red flag while Robin Frijns was 14th fastest, with the Dutchman's sole 250kW run being spoiled by yellow flags for Massa's stricken Venturi in Turn 13.

Tom Dillmann secured 15th for NIO and was followed by Gary Paffett, Oliver Turvey, Massa, Wehrlein, di Grassi, Alex Lynn and Lopez who completed the field, unable to get back out on track following his accident.