Caca Bueno dominates in Sanya to claim maiden I-PACE eTROPHY win

Caca Bueno stormed to a dominant victory in round four of the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY in Sanya, becoming the series' fourth different winner in its inaugural season of competition.

In a close battle during qualifying, Bueno emerged as the fastest driver in the field of 12, claiming a second consecutive pole position over Simon Evans while team-mate Sergio Jimenez ended the session as the third-fastest runner.

Securing a strong getaway from pole position, Bueno led into Turn 10 which marked the first corner of the race, holding off Evans and Bryan Sellers who started in third following the application of a grid penalty for Jimenez. 

As the fastest man out on track, Bueno opened up an advantage at the front of the field although this was short-lived, with a red flag for the stricken Team China Racing car of Tao Wang causing the action out on track to be paused, with the field returning to the pit lane.

After a 10-minute stoppage, racing was resumed, with the field leaving the pit lane under safety car conditions. When the safety car peeled into the pits, the green flags waved once more, leaving just over five minutes of racing remaining.

Leading the field away for the final run to the chequered flag, Bueno secured a jump on Evans on the run into Turn 10, opening an advantage that the Kiwi was ultimately unable to close.

Taking the chequered flag, Bueno emerged as the eventual victor, with Evans taking second place while Sellers was third for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, unable to pressure the New Zealander ahead in the run to the line. 

Starting from fifth place as a result of his grid penalty, Jimenez took fourth, missing out on the podium for the first time this season while overtaking TWR Techeetah's Stefan Rzadzinski with an opportunistic overtake into Turn 5. 

With Rzadzinski completing the top five, Katherine Legge finished in a low-key sixth to complete the Pro field.

After missing out on the Pro-Am victory in Hong Kong, Saudi Arabia's Bandar Alesayi reigned once again in the I-PACE eTROPHY's second category, securing a third victory in four races while finishing seventh overall. 

Yaqi Zhang, who started from last place, secured the runner-up spot in Pro-Am and eighth overall while Jaguar VIP driver David Cheng took ninth.

Ahmed Bin-Khanen finished in 10th while Wang completed the field of runners in 11th as the race's sole retirement, with Celia Martin failing to start the race as a result of damage sustained in qualifying on her Viessmann Jaguar eTROPHY Team Germany car.

The Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY will return on April 13 in Rome.