Caca Bueno pips Simon Evans to Sanya I-PACE eTROPHY pole

Caca Bueno pipped Simon Evans to pole position for the fourth round of the inaugural season of the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY in Sanya, China.

The Jaguar Brazil Racing driver set a best time of a 1m 27.373s in the early stages of the session to claim the top spot for the second race in a row, with Evans coming close to knocking Bueno off the top of the timesheets, ending the 30-minute session 0.010s off the pace to claim second.

Bueno's team-mate, Sergio Jimenez, ended qualifying with the third fastest time, only 0.042s adrift of pole despite causing a red flag after clattering the barriers on the exit of Turn 5.

As a result of his collision in Hong Kong with Evans which saw the Kiwi drop out of podium contention on the final lap of the race, however, Jimenez will start from fifth after being handed a two-place grid penalty for Sanya.

Taking Jimenez's penalty into account, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing's Bryan Sellers will start from third on the grid while Stefan Rzadzinksi will start from fourth, with only 0.149s covering the top five drivers in qualifying.

In Pro-Am it was Bandar Alesayi who emerged as the fastest driver, taking pole position in the sub-category of the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY while the Saudi driver will start from sixth on the grid overall.

Yaqi Zhang emerged as the seventh fastest runner, however, after being handed a three-place grid penalty following the third round of the season, will start the race from 10th on the grid. 

Katherine Legge experienced an uncharacteristically difficult qualifying session in the second Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing entry, only setting the eighth fastest time prior to parking her I-PACE car before the end of the session after picking up damage to her right-front. 

Ahmed Bin-Khanen followed Legge in ninth while Celia Martin completed the top 10. Tao Wang was 11th while VIP driver David Cheng rounded out the field in 12th.