Sebastien Ogier flies to Rally Mexico win, Tanak retains championship lead

Sebastien Ogier has flown to Rally Mexico victory, taking the maximum 30 points available from the weekend.

Citroen driver Ogier inherited the lead in the fifth stage of the weekend when rally leader Andreas Mikkelsen hit trouble.

Despite briefly losing the top spot to Kris Meeke after a puncture, he was rescued by receiving a notional time when Esapekka Lappi brought out the red flag on the first running of Guanajuatito, and the reigning champion immediately took the place back on the next stage when Meeke too suffered a puncture.

Ogier took his sixth stage win of the event on the powerstage, adding a further five points to the 25 he achieved for the victory.

Ott Tanak finished in second after struggling for grip in the early part of the weekend, disadvantaged from his position first on the road.

But a clean run for the Estonian means he still holds the championship lead by four points from the Frenchman.

While it wasn’t quite enough for him to hold onto second place, a problem-free weekend from Elfyn Evans allowed him to take the final podium position.

An early puncture for Thierry Neuville, as well as the struggles of starting second on the road meant he had to make do with fourth place.

Meeke finished in fifth after his Saturday morning puncture but recovered four points by being second fastest in the powerstage.

Benito Guerra took WRC2 victory at his home event and finished sixth overall, ahead of fellow WRC2 runner Marco Bulacia Wilkinson.

Eighth went to Jari-Matti Latvala, with the Toyota driver suffering an alternator issue as well as receiving a time penalty for checking into a stage late.

Dani Sordo finished in ninth after a promising Friday running in second place before an electrical fault stopped him on a road section.

Tenth went to Ricardo Trivino Bujalil.