FIA confirms WRC's permanent driver numbers

The FIA has confirmed the numbers chosen by each of the Priority 1 drivers in the World Rally Championship, which as with Formula 1, will become their permanent WRC career number.

A regulation change for 2019 means for the first time in the WRC's 40-year history, car numbers will be linked to the driver, not the team.

Drivers were given the opportunity to select their own number, from #2 through to #99, with the #1 always being reserved for the reigning champion.

Sebastien Ogier will therefore race with #1 on his Citroen C3 WRC, having switched from M-Sport for 2019. It hasn't been confirmed what number Ogier chose.

Kris Meeke will race with the #5 for his return to the championship. He revealed that his daughter chose his number.

Andreas Mikkelsen chose the highest number with #89, representing the year (1989) in which both he and his co-drover Anders Jaeger were born.

WRC Driver Permanent Competition Numbers

1 Sebastien Ogier
3 Teemu Suninen
4 Esapekka Lappi
5 Kris Meeke
6 Dani Sordo
7 Pontus Tidemand
8 Ott Tanak
10 Jarri-Matti Latvala
11 Thierry Neuville
19 Sebastien Loeb
33 Elfyn Evans
37 Lorenzo Bertelli
89 Andreas Mikkelsen