Chris Soulsby  |    |   0  |  15 December 2018

Simon Evans wins inaugural Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY race in Ad Diriyah

Simon Evans, bother of Panasonic Jaguar Racing driver Mitch Evans, emerged as the victor of the inaugural race of all-new Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY series in Ad Diriyah.

Starting from pole position after qualifying was scrapped for the Formula E support series, Evans led from lights to flag, holding off a race-long threat from Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing's Bryan Sellers and Jaguar Brazil Racing's Serio Jimenez. 

Taking the chequered flag by only 0.816s, Evans beat Jimenez to the chequered flag, with the Brazilian racer snatching second place from Sellers on the penultimate lap of the 25-minute + 1 lap affair. 

Dropping down to third, Sellers stood on the final step of the podium while Caca Bueno took fourth in the second Jaguar Brazil Racing entry.

For Jaguar VIP guest driver Alice Powell, the race in Ad Diriyah marked a successful return to motorsport for the Briton after spending three years away from racing.

Starting from seventh on the grid, Powell carved her way through the field, clearing Bandar Alesayi and TWR Techeetah driver Stefan Rzadzinski to secure fifth place. 

Katherine Legge followed Powell across the line to claim sixth place while Alesayi took seventh, dropping by one position after starting in sixth place.

Ahmed Bin-Khanen finished in eighth place and was followed across the line by Jaguar China Racing pair of Tao Wang and Yaqi Zhang. 

Celia Martin finished in 11th for Viessmann Jaguar eTROPHY Team Germany while Rzadzinski completed the field of 12, picking up damage after making contact with Bueno in the battle for fourth place in the mid-stages of the race.

The Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY will return in Mexico City on February 16, continuing its support of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship in its second generation of racing.

Leave a comment...