34 cars confirmed for WEC's Sebring return

A total of 34 cars will take part in the 1,000-mile World Endurance Championship round at Sebring Raceway in March.

The race, which is scheduled to take place on the same weekend as the 12-hour classic, is the sixth and antepenultimate event in the 2018-19 superseason.

It will feature eight cars in LMP1, seven in LMP2, 10 in GTE-Pro and nine in GTE-Am. The LMP1 entry is largely unchanged from the previous round at Shanghai in November, with the exception of DragonSpeed which has restored Henrik Hedman to its lineup alongside Renger van der Zande and Ben Hanley after two rounds away.

Toyota heads to Sebring with the points lead in LMP1, with Fernando Alonso, Sebastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima now just five points ahead of team-mates Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez following two straight wins for the chasing #7 crew.

In LMP2, Larbre Competition will run a sixth different driver in as many races next to Erwin Creed and Romano Ricci with French youngster Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer coming in for his WEC debut.

The 10-car grid in GTE-Pro features three teams with additional drivers for the second-longest race of the season after the two editions of Le Mans.

Ferrari and Aston Martin have each named their third members, while Ford has yet to confirm who will join its full-season crews. Ferrari has enlisted factory driver Miguel Molina and former Sebring 12 Hours pole-sitter Daniel Serra to join its #51 and #71 lineups respectively, while Darren Turner and Jonny Adam are both back in action for Aston Martin’s works team.

In GTE-Am, the main change is Clearwater Racing’s signing of Matteo Cressoni and Luis Perez Companc to drive its Ferrari 488 GTE in place of Mok Weng Sun (who retired after Shanghai) and Keita Sawa.