Valtteri Bottas sets pace as Barcelona F1 test concludes

Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas remained atop the timesheets as Formula 1’s in-season test in Spain drew to a conclusion.

Bottas’ time of 1:16.904 on the Supersoft tyres, set during the morning session, went unbeaten throughout the four-hour afternoon session.

Ferrari reserve driver Antonio Giovinazzi also held position, finishing the day 0.068s down on Bottas, his quickest lap set on the Ultrasoft compound.

Giovinazzi, having sampled Sauber’s C37 on Tuesday, was the most productive driver, completing 148 laps aboard Ferrari’s SF71H.

McLaren's Lando Norris posted a late lap to haul himself up from fifth to third, having stopped on track earlier in the session due to a minor setting issue.

Haas' Kevin Magnussen was the other driver to cause a red flag period, stopping as a precaution, and he wound up fourth, in front of Force India development driver Nikita Mazepin.

Jack Aitken placed sixth on his first full day in Renault’s R.S.18, in front of Sauber’s Charles Leclerc and Williams tester Robert Kubica.

Toro Rosso split running between Sean Gelael (morning) and Pierre Gasly (afternoon); the Frenchman placed ninth while F2 racer Gelael was 12th of the 13 runners.

Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren) and Nicholas Latifi (Force India) carried out running on behalf of Pirelli and took 10th and 13th respectively.

Red Bull simulator driver Jake Dennis was afforded an opportunity behind the wheel of the RB14 and he racked up over a race distance worth of mileage en route to 11th position.

Formula 1 action will resume next Thursday with the opening practice session for the Monaco Grand Prix; the next in-season test will take place in the aftermath of the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Spain Test (Day 2): Results

1 V. Bottas Mercedes 1:16.904   Supersoft 139
2 A. Giovinazzi Ferrari 1:16.972 0.068 Hypersoft 148
3 L. Norris McLaren 1:18.039 1.135 Soft 79
4 K. Magnussen Haas 1:18.274 1.370 Hypersoft 75
5 N. Mazepin Force India 1:18.344 1.440 Hypersoft 112
6 J. Aitken Renault 1:18.942 2.038 Medium 120
7 C. Leclerc Sauber 1:18.993 2.089 Hypersoft 139
8 R. Kubica Williams 1:19.253 2.349 Hypersoft 123
9 P. Gasly Toro Rosso 1:19.410 2.506 Medium 38
10 S. Vandoorne McLaren 1:19.914 3.010 N/A 96
11 J. Dennis Red Bull 1:20.440 3.536 Medium 74
12 S. Gelael Toro Rosso 1:20.763 3.859 Soft 83
13 N. Latifi Force India 1:21.412 4.508 N/A 121