FIA alters Formula 1 superlicence points system

The FIA has made alterations to the Formula 1 superlicence points system, with only two series now offering the required number of points to automatically qualify for a superlicence in one hit.

Any driver that wants to race in F1 must hold a superlicence, which requires 40 points earned over a three-year period, with different series offering a varying number of points, depending on where a competitor finishes.

Previously, those drivers that were crowned champion of Formula 2, European Formula 3, Formula E, IndyCar and the World Endurance Championship LMP1 class all received the necessary 40 points to qualify.

However, only F2 (formerly GP2) and IndyCar now offer the required 40 points, with drivers placed first, second and third in F2 earning maximum points, whereas only the champion in IndyCar will be awarded 40 points, with second earning 30 and third 20.

F3 European, Formula E, and WEC LMP1 have been downgraded to 30 points for their respective champions.

The list has been expanded to cover a total of 35 series ranging from NASCAR and V8 Supercars to Formula Mazda and the CIK-FIA Continental Karting Championships Junior Category.

A full list can be downloaded here.