Ryan Wood  |    12 August 2017

Marc Marquez beats Ducati riders to Austrian pole position

Marc Marquez claimed a third straight pole position as he topped the timing screens on Saturday at the Red Bull Ring in Austria, beating the Ducatis to record a fastest lap time of 1:23.235, pipping Andrea Dovizioso by 0.144s.

The Ducati riders complete the front-row with Dovizioso leading Jorge Lorenzo – the team-mates split by just over two-tenths.

Marquez laid down an opening marker which was good enough to put him at the top before improving on his second run, which proved out of reach for his rivals, despite late improvements across the board.

Championship rival Maverick Vinales starts fourth, missing out on a front-row start by a tenth of a second, but was almost overcome by the Pramac of Danilo Petrucci, who got within 0.026 of the Spaniard. Johann Zarco continued his strong form with sixth.

Valentino Rossi had to settle for seventh on the grid, with a time seven-tenths off Marquez's best.

The Honda's of Dani Pedrosa and Cal Crutchlow were eighth and ninth, with Suzuki' Andrea Iannone tenth, despite a mechanical problem during FP4.

Aspar's Karel Abraham and Avintia's Loris Baz both advanced directly into Q2 and finished 11th and 12th respectively.

Austria - Qualifying

Pos Rider Team Time Gap
1 Flag   Marc Marquez Honda 1:23.235
2 Flag   Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:23.379 0.144
3 Flag   Jorge Lorenzo Ducati 1:23.621 0.386
4 Flag   Maverick Vinales Yamaha 1:23.754 0.519
5 Flag   Danilo Petrucci Pramac 1:23.780 0.545
6 Flag   Johann Zarco Yamaha Tech 3 1:23.879 0.644
7 Flag   Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:23.982 0.747
8 Flag   Dani Pedrosa Honda 1:23.985 0.750
9 Flag   Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1:24.024 0.789
10 Flag   Andrea Iannone Suzuki Ecstar 1:24.185 0.950
11 Flag   Karel Abraham Aspar 1:24.220 0.985
12 Flag   Loris Baz Avintia 1:24.483 1.248
13 Flag   Jonas Folger Yamaha Tech 3 1:24.015
14 Flag   Hector Barbera Avintia 1:24.036
15 Flag   Scott Redding Pramac 1:24.037
16 Flag   Pol Espargaro KTM 1:24.101
17 Flag   Alvaro Bautista Aspar 1:24.202
18 Flag   Mika Kallio KTM 1:24.261
19 Flag   Jack Miller Marc VDS 1:24.321
20 Flag   Aleix Esparagaro Aprilia 1:24.447
21 Flag   Alex Rins Suzuki Ecstar 1:24.448
22 Flag   Bradley Smith KTM 1:24.530
23 Flag   Sam Lowes Aprilia 1:24.852
24 Flag   Tito Rabat Marc VDS 1:24.900

Leave a comment...