Mahindra unveils Season 6 car, switches to ZF powertrain

Mahindra Racing will sport the same driver line-up for the 2019/20 Formula E season, with Pascal Wehrlein and Jerome d'Ambrosio re-signing with the team while the Indian marque will utilise a ZF powertrain for Season 6.

Both Wehrlein and d'Ambrosio raced for Mahindra last season in what was a campaign of mixed success, with the outfit taking sixth in the Teams' Championship, standing on top of the rostrum on only one occasion alongside a pair of podium finishes.

While the team will maintain its driver lineup, the manufacturer will use a ZF powertrain for Season 6, switching from its in-house design team to one designed and developed by the German car parts manufacturer.

ZF previously supplied Venturi for Season 5, however, no longer supplies the Monegasque outfit who will use Mercedes-Benz power for the coming season, entering a partnership with the German manufacturer.

"I am thrilled Jérôme and Pascal will both return to the team for season six," commented team boss Dilbagh Gill. "Last season was one of the most challenging seasons in Formula E history in terms of competition but we believe we have one of the strongest driver line-ups on the grid to help us achieve our championship ambitions.

"I am also delighted to welcome ZF to the Mahindra Racing family. We now have one of the most successful global players in the field of e-mobility at our side. We were highly impressed by the performance of the ZF driveline in the most recent Formula E season and together we will be even better positioned to continue celebrating success."

The team also unveiled their new M6Electro, which will feature a largely unchanged livery, keeping the red, white and blue colour scheme.

Pre-season testing for the 2019/20 season will take place at the Ricardo Tormo Circuit in Valencia from October 15-18 ahead of the first race of the impending campaign on November 22 in Ad Diriyah.