Sebastien Buemi beats Stoffel Vandoorne to Berlin E-Prix pole

Sebastien Buemi delivered Nissan e.dams with pole position for the Berlin E-Prix, beating HWA Racelab's Stoffel Vandoorne to the top spot in qualifying.

In the group qualifying stages, it was Vandoorne who set the pace, the Belgian lapping the Flughafen Tempelhof Circuit in 1m 07.619s while Buemi was his nearest challenger, 0.006s adrift.

As the slowest of the top six runners in the group qualifying stages, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler's Lucas di Grassi opened proceedings in Super Pole, the Brazilian setting a benchmark time of a 1m 07.719s. 

As the second runner in Super Pole after completing his initial run in Group Four, Jaguar Racing's Alex Lynn was unable to match di Grassi, 0.130s off the pace while Gary Paffett in the second HWA entry wound up 0.064s off the provisional polesitter, moving into second. 

BMW i Andretti Motorsport's Alexander Sims set the slowest time of Super Pole after failing to replicate his pace from Group Three, qualifying in sixth overall while a five-place grid penalty will drop the British racer down to 11th on the grid.

With di Grassi remaining on top, Buemi was the Season 3 champion's next challenger and after going purple in sectors one and three, the Swiss racer shot to the top of the timesheets, 0.424s faster than his long-term rival.

As the final runner in Super Pole, Vandoorne was Buemi's final challenger, however, when the ex-McLaren racer ran wide in Turn 1, it was advantage Buemi, leaving the Season 2 champion in pole position.

Vandoorne settled into second overall, followed by di Grassi, Paffett, Lynn and Sims. 

Outside of the top six, 2018 Berlin E-Prix race winner Daniel Abt was seventh, pushed out of a Super Pole position by HWA's Paffett while Antonio Felix da Costa followed in seventh, 0.060s adrift of the German racer in the group qualifying stages.

Reigning Formula E champion Jean-Eric Vergne was unable to cement a spot in Super Pole after running in Group One, emerging as the fastest DS Techeetah driver in ninth place while Andre Lotterer in the second DS E-Tense FE19 had a miserable qualifying for his home race, failing to complete a 250kW run which left him in 22nd.

Jerome d'Ambrosio completed the top 10 in what was a 10-11 result for Mahindra Racing, with team-mate Pascal Wehrlein qualifying in 11th place although this will become 10th on the grid as a result of Sims' penalty.

Oliver Rowland in the second Nissan IM01 was unable to emulate his qualifying performances of recent races, qualifying in 12th place while Sam Bird was the lead Envision Virgin Racing driver was 13th after having limited running in FP2.

NIO's Oliver Turvey was 14th while Maximilian Gunther completed the top 15 for GEOX Dragon, 

After setting the second fastest time in both practice sessions prior to qualifying, Edoardo Mortara was the lead Venturi driver in 16th while Felipe Massa was 19th, the pair split by Tom Dillmann and Mitch Evans.

Jose Maria Lopez, Robin Frijns and Lotterer completed the field, struggling to find pace in Berlin. 

The Berlin E-Prix will commence at 13:00 local time later on today and will mark the 10th race of Formula E's present 2018/19 campaign. 

Berlin - Qualifying

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Flag   Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams 1:07.295
2 Flag   Stoffel Vandoorne HWA Racelab 1:07.693 0.398
3 Flag   Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 1:07.719 0.424
4 Flag   Gary Paffett HWA Racelab 1:07.783 0.488
5 Flag   Alex Lynn Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:07.849 0.554
6 Flag   Alexander Sims BMW i Andretti Motorsport 1:08.017 0.722
7 Flag   Daniel Abt Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 1:07.953
8 Flag   Antonio Felix da Costa BMW i Andretti Motorsport 1:08.013
9 Flag   Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah Formula E Team 1:08.046
10 Flag   Jerome d'Ambrosio Mahindra Racing 1:08.065
11 Flag   Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing 1:08.086
13 Flag   Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams 1:08.119
14 Flag   Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 1:08.203
14 Flag   Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 1:08.182
15 Flag   Max Gunther GEOX Dragon 1:08.218
16 Flag   Edorado Mortara Venturi Formula E Team 1:08.223
17 Flag   Tom Dillmann NIO Formula E Team 1:08.263
18 Flag   Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:08.314
19 Flag   Felipe Massa Venturi Formula E Team 1:08.348
20 Flag   Jose Maria Lopez GEOX Dragon 1:08.720
21 Flag   Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing 1:08.919
22 Flag   Andre Lotterer DS Techeetah Formula E Team 1:12.568