Last corner crash hands first FE win to Di Grassi

Lucas di Grassi claimed the first ever FIA Formula E victory at the Beijing ePrix thanks to a last corner crash between race leader Nicolas Prost and the chasing Nick Heidfeld.

Heidfield, driving for Venturi, was chasing Prost down in the final few laps and made a late braking move at the final corner to pull alongside the e.dams of Prost, but the Frenchman made a late defensive move which saw the pair collide.

Heidfeld hit the barrier and his car rotated twice before coming to a rest on its roll-hoop, the German escaped unharmed though.

Audi Sport's Di Grassi made the most of the incident and swept through the carnage to claim the win ahead of Andretti Autosport's Franck Montagny whilst Sam Bird completed the podium for Virgin Racing after Daniel Abt was penalised for failing to complete a drive-through penalty during the race.

Race Result - 2014/15 Beijing ePrix:

01. Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT 25
02. Franck Montagny Andretti Autosport 18
03. Sam Bird Virgin Racing 15
04. Charles Pic Andretti Autosport 12
05. Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing 10
06. Jerome d'Ambrosio Dragon Racing 8
07. Oriol Servia Dragon Racing 6
08. Nelson Piquet Jnr China Racing 4
09. Stephane Sarrazin Venturi Racing 2
10. Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT 1
11. Jamie Alguersuari Virgin Racing
12. Nicolas Prost e.dams-Racing
13. Nick Heidfeld Venturi Racing
14. Katherine Legge Amlin Aguri
15. Michela Cerruti Trulli GP
16. Ho-Pin Tung China Racing
17. Takuma Sato Amlin Aguri
18. Sebastien Buemi e.dams-Renault
19. Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing
20. Jarno Trulli Trulli GP
PP Nicolas Prost e.dams-Renault 3
FL Takuma Sato Amlin Aguri 2