Phillip Horton  |    |   0  |  19 February 2019

Sauber Motorsport confirms junior team roster

Sauber Motorsport has confirmed the line-up for its newly-formed junior team.

Sauber, which now competes in Formula 1 under the Alfa Romeo Racing banner, revealed last year that it was to create a junior squad from 2019.

Sauber’s junior team will compete in Formula 2, Formula 3 and Formula 4 and be run by Charouz Racing System, providing drivers with a path up the FIA’s single-seater ladder.

Callum Ilott – also a member of Ferrari’s Driver Academy – and Juan Manuel Correa will race for Charouz in Formula 2, with both newcomers to the championship.

Reigning ADAC Formel 4 champion Lirim Zendeli, Fabio Scherer and Raoul Hyman will compete for the operation in FIA Formula 3, which has replaced the GP3 Series on Formula 1’s support package.

In Formula 4, the team will be represented by Alessandro Ghiretti, Roman Staněk, and Théo Pourchaire.

“The Sauber Junior Team is heading into the 2019 season with a strong line-up in the FIA single-seater categories – F2, F3 and F4,” said Sauber CEO Frederic Vasseur.

“Our project was launched with the goal of passing on our experience to young drivers and providing a platform where they can successfully develop their skills and come closer to their dream of racing at the pinnacle of motorsport one day.

“We look forward to our collaboration and will follow the progress of these young talents closely.”

Leave a comment...