FIA confirms unchanged 12-round Formula 2 calendar

Formula 2’s 12-round 2019 calendar has been published by the FIA’s World Motor Sport Council.

The championship will begin in Bahrain next March and conclude in Abu Dhabi at the start of December, in conjunction with Formula 1’s season finale.

Between those events the series will visit Azerbaijan, Spain, Monaco, France, Austria, Britain, Hungary, Belgium, Italy and Russia.

It is the same 12-round calendar as in 2018.

The new-for-2019 Formula 3 championship will join Formula 2 at eight of those 12 rounds, skipping Bahrain, Azerbaijan, Monaco and Abu Dhabi.

It means the tertiary series will commence in Spain next May and come to a close at September’s Russia round.

Formula 3's predecessor, GP3, had previously concluded alongside Formula 1 and Formula 2 in Abu Dhabi, which takes place a week after the Macau Grand Prix, whose 2019 category line-up has yet to be determined.

Formula 2 2019 calendar:

29-31 March Bahrain Sakhir
26-28 April Azerbaijan Baku
10-12 May* Spain Barcelona
23-25 May Monaco Monaco
21-23 June* France Le Castellet
28-30 June* Austria Spielberg
12-14 July* Great Britain Silverstone
2-4 August* Hungary Budapest
30 August - 1 September* Belgium Spa‐Francorchamps
6-8 September* Italy Monza
27-29 September* Russia Sochi
29 November - 1 December Abu Dhabi Yas Marina

*FIA Formula 3 will also race at this event