Formula 1 extends Spanish TV deal with Movistar through 2020

Formula 1 will continue to be broadcast on pay-per-view channel Movistar+ in Spain through 2020, after a new deal was agreed.

Formula 1 went behind a paywall in Spain, home to two drivers on the 2018 grid – Renault's Carlos Sainz Jr. and McLaren's Fernando Alonso – in 2014, and a new contract has been signed.

Movistar+ will broadcast all practice and qualifying sessions, along with the 21 Grands Prix, and has also received a number of ‘additional digital rights’ for the 2018-20 period.

“We are very happy to extend our partnership with Movistar+, which has begun in 2014, for three more years,” said Formula 1 Director of Media Rights Ian Holmes.

“Spain is one of the most important European markets for Formula 1 and, thanks to this partnership, the Spanish fans will be able to continue to enjoy the spectacle provided by the pinnacle of motor sport 24/7 on a dedicated channel, Movistar F1.

“We will be also help Movistar+ to produce exclusive content for its distribution across their digital and social media platforms, which will contribute to broaden the fan base and its engagement.”

“Motorsport is a strategic pillar for Movistar+, with its perfectly defined offer and two internationally groundbreaking dedicated channels,” added Alex Martinez Roig, Movistar+ Content Manager.

“We are poised build an ambitious project with Formula 1, with one specific goal in mind – broadening the Formula 1 fan base and meeting its wildest expectations.

“Most of the fans are tech savvy viewers and the online environment is the niche we want to explore and where we anticipate a major breakthrough.

“2018 will be the fifth consecutive year in which Formula 1 will be fully broadcast in Spain by Movistar F1, our dedicated channel. The renewal of the partnership constitutes a further step in our commitment to provide the Spanish viewers with the best possible sports offer.”

Commercial chief Sean Bratches has previously spoken of the aim to evaluate the PPV/FTA (free-to-air) distribution of Formula 1 rights on a territory-by-territory basis.