Jack Leslie  |    |   0  |  16 July 2017

Sam Bird beats Felix Rosenqvist to pole for second New York race

DS Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird has secured pole position for the second part of Formula E’s double-header in Brooklyn, New York.

The British racer took victory in Saturday’s first race and set the pace during final practice earlier on Sunday, before easily progressing to Super Pole.

Bird put in a 1:02.285 to take pole position by an incredibly narrow margin, with just a 0.037 second lead over Felix Rosenqvist.

Mahindra’s Rosenqvist had to settle for second, keen to make up for a tough race one, with Saturday’s runner-up Jean-Eric Vergne third quickest for Techeetah.

Sebastien Buemi’s Renault e.dams replacement Pierre Gasly struggled in qualifying on Saturday but showed improved form on Sunday, to take P4 on the grid – even with a mistake.

Nick Heidfeld completed the top five after a scruffy lap, with Maro Engel the first unable to get into Super Pole. He was sixth, ahead of Oliver Turvey and Daniel Abt.

Title contender Lucas di Grassi was only ninth, ahead of Tom Dillmann. Robin Frijns (with a grid penalty for a gearbox change) and Stephane Sarrazin – who glanced the wall at the final corner – were next up.

Mitch Evans was 13th, ahead of Jerome d’Ambrosio and Nicolas Prost. Nelson Piquet Jr. was 16th, while race one polesitter Alex Lynn could only manage 17th.

New York 2 - Qualifying

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Flag   Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing 1:02.285
2 Flag   Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing 1:02.322 0.037
3 Flag   Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah 1:02.544 0.259
4 Flag   Pierre Gasly Renault e.Dams 1:03.173 0.888
5 Flag   Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing 1:03.210 0.925
6 Flag   Maro Engel Venturi 1:02.579 0.294
7 Flag   Oliver Turvey NextEV Nio 1:02.583 0.298
8 Flag   Daniel Abt ABT Schaeffler Audi 1:02.688 0.403
9 Flag   Lucas di Grassi ABT Schaeffler Audi 1:02.720 0.435
10 Flag   Tom Dillmann Venturi 1:02.807 0.522
11 Flag   Robin Frijns Andretti 1:02.820 0.535
12 Flag   Stephane Sarrazin Techeetah 1:02.853 0.568
13 Flag   Mitch Evans Jaguar Racing 1:02.868 0.583
14 Flag   Jerome D'Ambrosio Faraday Future Dragon Racing 1:02.900 0.615
15 Flag   Nicolas Prost Renault e.Dams 1:03.038 0.753
16 Flag   Nelson Piquet NextEV Nio 1:03.184 0.899
17 Flag   Alex Lynn DS Virgin Racing 1:03.224 0.939
18 Flag   Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti 1:03.330 1.045
19 Flag   Loic Duval Faraday Future Dragon Racing 1:03.547 1.262
20 Flag   Adam Carroll Jaguar Racing 1:03.594 1.309

Leave a comment...