Ryan Wood  |    |   0  |  19 June 2017

WMSC confirms 21-race Formula 1 calendar for 2018 season

The World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) has approved a record-equalling 21-race Formula 1 calendar for the 2018 season, which sees the loss of Malaysia and the return of France and Germany.

The season will start on March 25 in Australia and end in Abu Dhabi on November 25 – with Hungary and Belgium bookending the four-week summer break in August.

The calendar will also feature a triple-header, with France, Austria and Great Britain taking place within the space of three weeks across late June and early July.

Other changes include Azerbaijan taking up a much earlier slot on the calendar in April, whilst Russia moves toward the end of the season as round 16 after Singapore and before Japan.

Two races; China and Singapore, remain subject to confirmation.

As part of greater collaboration between FIA sanctioned series, the WMSC also confirmed that the 86th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans would not clash with F1 once again, and will take place on the June 16-17 weekend, between the Canadian and French grands prix.

Date Location Country
25 March Melbourne Australia
8 April Shanghai* China
15 April Sakhir Bahrain
29 April Baku Azerbaijan
13 May Barcelona Spain
27 May Monaco Monaco
10 June Montreal Canada
24 June Le Castellet France
1 July Spielberg Austria
8 July Silverstone Great Britain
22 July Hockenheim Germany
29 July Budapest Hungary
26 August Spa-Francorchamps Belgium
2 September Monza Italy
16 September Singapore* Singapore
30 September Sochi Russia
7 October Suzuka Japan
21 October Austin USA
28 October Mexico City Mexico
11 November Sao Paulo Brazil
25 November Yas Marina Abu Dhabi

Leave a comment...